Howl [chapter 2]

white-wolf-background-yorkshire_rose-22219235-1600-1200

 

I trembled, but I don’t know why. Well, I did. I was afraid of the reaction of my parents. Not because I was weird, but because I got out of the hospital. Probably they were worried about me and rightly so. I was not well, and not just physically but also mentally. Although my body was in good condition, which is not right.

Laura stopped the car in the driveway in front of my house. She handed me a business card with the office, at home and her private cell number. She told me to call her when I want no matter what time. I nodded in response and left the car. I ran to the front door and it was open. I slipped inside and went to my room. I downloaded my nasty nightgown and crawled into the shower. The water was good for me until something happens. I got cramps all over the body. I cringed on the floor and the water continued to fall on me. I felt as if my organs be removed. All my bones ached. I am agonizing, but do my best to overcome it. I drove my nails into my hands, to avoid screaming. I stayed as long as the water had long since become icy. Finally it stopped. I managed to crawl out of the bathroom. I was like a wounded animal. Naked and dragging on the floor. I could not dress, but I hid under the sheets. I breathe rapidly. I closed my eyes and fell into a deep sleep. It was so relaxing and the pain was gone.

Well, I had nightmares. Actually, it was just one nightmare and it was connected with what happened to me. I swiveling and sweating, but my throat did not come out screaming and moaning, but softly growling and whimpering. Then I heard a noise. I opened my eyes. My parents came home and with them had a policeman. My mother was crying. I hesitated, but finally got out of bed. I didn’t want to dress because I felt better naked. But snuck in short jeans and dressed a shirt as under those clothes I did not put underwear. This wasn’t normal for me. Still… I went downstairs and they saw me. They looked at me shocked, and then my mother hugged me hard. She does not stop asking me if I’m okay.

-Yes, mom. I guess, I’m… better. – I wasn’t sure of the answer.

-You have to go to the hospital, Jesse. They will heal you.

-I’m fine. It’s not needed…

-You’re sick.

-Sick? How…?

They hesitated. They looked at each other. Even the policeman looked at them. I did not like it. It was too suspicious.

-From what I’m sick? Tell me!

Lycanthropy. – My father said.

Lycanthropy? Is not that when human thinks that it’s an animal?  Am I turning into a monster?

As soon as I spoke I saw the logic in everything that happened to me. But it was hard to believe.

-Cut the crap! These are fabrications.

-No, it’s not, miss. – Through the door came in a woman.

She was about fifty or sixty years old. Her hair was gray and a tight bun. Her eyes were blue and cold. She was low and weak. She wore a cream-colored suit and white shirt. She looked at me pretty nasty.

-Who are you?

-Don’t growl to me, girl!

-I don’t growl. And I’m not sick.

-Catch her. – She said and two costumed men appeared behind me.

They grabbed me roughly and were definitely very strong… for people. I felt as if I could smash them with easy. What if the old witch said is true, I’m definitely capable of much more than to be free. But I felt confused and scared. I was trapped and did not know how to get out without anyone getting hurt. As it became clear that even if I resist, I still would have hurt. How they could stand and watch? They are my parents… Why…? Why did not they protect me? Why just watch these suckers harass me? The anger is quickly replacing the fear and frustration. This has been forwarded to strengthen and abruptly pulled back. Men lost balance briefly, but I won time. With renewed strength I grabbed them one by one and drove them to the walls. One ran into the dresser and the other went through the glass door leading to the next room. My eyes… My nonhuman eyes turned to the old woman. I wanted to rip her. Contrary to my morals, I wanted to feel her blood. To know that I take a man’s life that threatens me. But for now, just stood and watched. I was waiting. I do not know what, but I waited.

My father tried to get closer. He stepped slowly. I do not lose him from a sight. I stepped back. I really felt like an animal in a trap. The smell of their emotions teased my senses. According to the woman, Laura Collins, I’m not “turned” completely… yet. If I am judging by the attack earlier… I don’t have much time.

-Calm down, dear! Everything will be okay. Let us help you.

-I do not want anything from you. You want to betray me to these monsters. You…

I could not breathe. I was confused. The threat has been hanging over me. I would not be able to get my belongings. I looked for a way out and found it. I went to the window. I only knew that Mrs. Collins card is in my pocket. At the moment those men came to mind and stood up, I threw out the window. It broke into my head. I was hurt and scared. My blood was everywhere. Without considering the situation got up and ran. I thought only how to escape. Even I had no shoes. Hot tears streamed down my face.

I felt that I was being followed. Not wrong. Black car tried to overtake me. It was difficult for them because most streets were too narrow. At least one hour I was trying to escape. I hid behind a supermarket. It was hot and I was tired and scared. “How did this happen”, I thought. I had no money and no phone. I cursed my luck.

Not long after that, I took myself in hand. Got out of my hiding place and looked for a phone. I was lucky. An elderly woman in a small shop allowed me to call. I asked Laura for help. I could not tell her, but she did not ask. I gave her the address and hung up. The shopkeeper gives me a sandwich and a soda. She seemed worried about me. Of course, I did not feel well. Especially given that someone persecute me, and I’m half naked.

I was not relaxed. I just kept staring the shopkeeper. At the moment she reaches for the phone I will run away. Although…   Frankly I’d rather rip her head. Dear God! I really need help.

Not long after, I felt the familiar smell. Laura ran to me and hugged me. I was shaking, and she looked really worried. I do not catch lying. She looked at my face. She stroked me. She saw the scars. Take off her coat and pulled me with it. She thanked of shopkeeper and dragged me to her car. I do not know her and I do not trust her completely, but I can count only on her.

I cringed in my seat and trembling. Laura drove off quickly. Her eyes darted between me and the road. We left the city and headed for the wooded area, which encircled populated areas. And in that region there were houses, but they were at a great distance from one another. Only when we were under the protection of the trees, she asked me about my condition. I explained briefly. Suddenly she braked. She looked at me with wide eyes.

-Did they hurt you?

-Failed. The scars are from the soaring. I went right out the window. I did not care because the fear was stronger. Currently there is no place to go.

-There is. You will stay in my home with me.

-But…

-Soon is the full moon. It’s better to be in safe and remote locations.

I did not even respond. I stared out the window. It’s just started to rain. Large drops of rain pounded on the hood and caused me headaches. Soon it would be dark. The fatigue began to prevail. I relaxed just a bit, but I fell asleep. I suspect that I would wake up and the slightest danger. I was relaxed. I never thought it would happen.

 

Leave a Reply

