Ludwig van Beethoven – Letters to the Immortal Beloved+

The First Letter

   July 6, in the morning My angel, my all, my very self – Only a few words today and at that with pencil (with yours) – Not till tomorrow will my lodgings be definitely determined upon – what a useless waste of time – Why this deep sorrow when necessity speaks – can our love endure except th rough sacrifices, through not demanding everything from one another; can you change the fact that you are not wholly mine, I not wholly thine – Oh God, look out into the beauties of nature and comfort your heart with that which must be – Love demands everything and that very justly – thus it is to me with you, and to your with me. But you forget so easily that I must live for me and for you; if we were wholly united you would feel the pain of it as little as I – My journey was a fearful one; I did not reach here until 4 o’clock yesterday morning. Lacking horses the post-coach chose another route, but what an awful one; at the stage before the last I was warned not to travel at night; I was made fearful of a forest, but that only made me the more eager – and I was wrong. The coach must needs break down on the wretched road, a bottomless mud road. Without such postilions as I had with me I should have remained stuck in the road. Esterhazy, traveling the usual road here, had the same fate with eight horses that I had with four – Yet I got some pleasure out of it, as I always do when I successfully overcome difficulties – Now a quick change to things internal from things external. We shall surely see each other soon; moreover, today I cannot share with you the thoughts I have had during these last few days touching my own life – If our hearts were always close together, I would have none of these. My heart is full of so many things to say to you – ah – there are moments when I feel that speech amounts to nothing at all – Cheer up – remain my true, my only treasure, my all as I am yours. The gods must send us the rest, what for us must and shall be –  Your faithful LUDWIG.

The Second Letter

   Evening, Monday, July 6 You are suffering, my dearest creature – only now have I learned that letters must be posted very early in the morning on Mondays to Thursdays – the only days on which the mail-coach goes from here to K. – You are suffering – Ah, wherever I am, there you are also – I will arrange it with you and me that I can live with you. What a life!!! thus!!! without you – pursued by the goodness of mankind hither and thither – which I as little want to deserve as I deserve it – Humility of man towards man – it pains me – and when I consider myself in relation to the universe, what am I and what is He – whom we call the greatest – and yet – herein lies the divine in man – I weep when I reflect that you will probably not receive the first report from me until Saturday – Much as you love me – I love you more – But do not ever conceal yourself from me – good night – As I am taking the baths I must go to bed – Oh God – so near! so far! Is not our love truly a heavenly structure, and also as firm as the vault of heaven?

The Third Letter

   Good morning, on July 7 Though still in bed, my thoughts go out to you, my Immortal Beloved, now and then joyfully, then sadly, waiting to learn whether or not fate will hear us – I can live only wholly with you or not at all – Yes, I am resolved to wander so long away from you until I can fly to your arms and say that I am really at home with you, and can send my soul enwrapped in you into the land of spirits – Yes, unhappily it must be so – You will be the more contained since you know my fidelity to you. No one else can ever possess my heart – never – never – Oh God, why must one be parted from one whom one so loves. And yet my life in V is now a wretched life – Your love makes me at once the happiest and the unhappiest of men – At my age I need a steady, quiet life – can that be so in our connection? My angel, I have just been told that the mailcoach goes every day – therefore I must close at once so that you may receive the letter at once – Be calm, only by a calm consideration of our existence can we achieve our purpose to live together – Be calm – love me – today – yesterday – what tearful longings for you – you – you – my life – my all – farewell. Oh continue to love me – never misjudge the most faithful heart of your beloved. ever thine ever mine ever ours http://www.vampire-empire.com/vampire-love-poem-immortal-love.html

George Edward Woodberry. 1855–

 

13. “Immortal Love”

 

IMMORTAL love, too high for my possessing,—

 

  Yet, lower than thee, where shall I find repose?

 

  Long in my youth I sang the morning rose,

 

By earthly things the heavenly pattern guessing!

 

Long fared I on, beauty and love caressing,

         5

  And finding in my heart a place for those

 

  Eternal fugitives; the golden close

 

Of evening folds me, still their sweetness blessing.

 

  

Oh happy we, the first-born heirs of nature,

 

  For whom the Heavenly Sun delays his light!

  10

He by the sweets of every mortal creature

 

  Tempers eternal beauty to our sight;

 

And by the glow upon love’s earthly feature

 

  Maketh the path of our departure bright. ********************************************************** Immortal Creature of the Night By elishbah, Karachi, Pakistan Cold blood staining your face Mirroring my horror Your fangs sinking in with grace Licking the blood with fervor I wonder if my last sight In the mortal life Should be the treacherous moonlight Encouraging of your bloody strife  Soon I’ll be a part of thine  Vice immortal world  Will have crossed a deadly line Rendering my fears unfurled I now look upon you Your eager, thirsty expression Your face is pale and blue Though full of inhuman passion Blood flows out of me Only to meet your demands I’m soon going to be  What no human understands Fiend of the day Monster of the night  Every innocent human shall pay During my brutal strife  Akin to what I see Presently in front of me  I’ll saunter upon the earth As a devil inexorable  With vast eternal thirst And just like I lie Below you, faint Choking out a unheard cry Blood seeping darker than paint It’s time to say goodbye One day I’ll find myself In your position of power Another prey pitying herself Will lie below me in horror Now I feel them dilate The sharp acute fangs You grin down at me; eyes wide open in wait Removing my irate bangs, I soar high, baring my teeth And grasping your steely hand And feeling elite  We sauntered along; imposing and grand  Together as one We build up our thirst Casting shadows of shade from the sun  I wonder fervently who’s first And as you lead me  Eagerly to my victim  I’m satisfied with what I see And leisurely move in for the kill I now roam the earth A true creature of the night Full of eternal thirst Impatient and feverish to bite Below me lies  A writhing human I watch as it dies Worthless, futile to my kind I suck up all its blood Causing my fangs to flood Finally, I can fulfill my desires As I walk prudently Under the wrath of the vampires.   =============================================

10. Whispers of Immortality

 

WEBSTER was much possessed by death

 

And saw the skull beneath the skin;

 

And breastless creatures under ground

 

Leaned backward with a lipless grin.

 

 

Daffodil bulbs instead of balls

        5

Stared from the sockets of the eyes!

 

He knew that thought clings round dead limbs

 

Tightening its lusts and luxuries.

 

 

Donne, I suppose, was such another

 

Who found no substitute for sense;

        10

To seize and clutch and penetrate,

 

Expert beyond experience,

 

 

He knew the anguish of the marrow

 

The ague of the skeleton;

 

No contact possible to flesh

        15

Allayed the fever of the bone. .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

 

Grishkin is nice: her Russian eye

 

Is underlined for emphasis;

 

Uncorseted, her friendly bust

 

Gives promise of pneumatic bliss.

        20

 

The couched Brazilian jaguar

 

Compels the scampering marmoset

 

With subtle effluence of cat;

 

Grishkin has a maisonette;

 

 

The sleek Brazilian jaguar

        25

Does not in its arboreal gloom

 

Distil so rank a feline smell

 

As Grishkin in a drawing-room.

 

 

And even the Abstract Entities

 

Circumambulate her charm;

        30

But our lot crawls between dry ribs

 

To keep our metaphysics warm.

 

  ===============================================

The Vampire

 

by Madison Julius Cawein

 

A lily in a twilight place? A moonflow’r in the lonely night?— Strange beauty of a woman’s face Of wildflower-white! The rain that hangs a star’s green ray Slim on a leaf-point’s restlessness, Is not so glimmering green and gray As was her dress. I drew her dark hair from her eyes, And in their deeps beheld a while Such shadowy moonlight as the skies Of Hell may smile. She held her mouth up reply wan, And burning cold,—I bent and kissed Such rosy snow as some wild dawn Makes of a mist. God shall not take from me that hour, When round my neck her white arms clung! When ‘neath my lips, like some fierce flower, Her white throat swung! Or words she murmured while she leaned! Witch-words, she holds me softly by,— The spell that binds me to a fiend Until I die. ****************************************** 2) Vampires The night was day, The day was night, The world was dark and   empty, The caves were dark ‘er  the light shall ne’er touch, Thy light be scorned, Else thee be burned, By its purifying touch, We are the dark ones, Scorned by those of   light, We are the darkness, That touches yonder heart, We be Deaths’ carriers, Who watches those  above, We be the shadows, Seen on full-moon’s  light, Flying above yonder  head, Waiting for a mistake, To be made by thee  mortals, We be the ghosts of history, Haunting All-Hallow’s eve, The monsters under a child’s bed, We be the nightmares, We be the sins, We be the wraiths  of natural destruction, We be the Vampires. Written by [de Morte] ===========================================


 

Leave a Reply

